The Gates of Rome (Emperor)-(Signed)

The Gates of Rome (Emperor)-(Signed)

Regular price
£110.00
Sale price
£110.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

VGC.HarperCollins,2003.First edition-second printing(3 5 7 9 8 6 4 2).The book is signed by the Author on the title page.Brown hardback(gilt lettering to the spine,small nick on the edge of the cover) with Dj(two scratches and nicks on the Dj cover),both in VGC.Nice and clean pages with nick and tainted on the outer edges,two very small nicks/tears and light shelf wear on the edges of the pages.The book is in VGC with light shelf wear.Price un-clipped.408pp.Signed by Conn Iggulden. This is another paragraph Product Discription: English writer Iggulden's first novel is the story of two young boys-Gaius and Marcus, raised as brothers though one is illegitimate-as they grow to adulthood in Rome two millennia ago. At that time, the republic was beginning to fall apart, a collapse that would result in the civil wars that brought the emperors to power. It was a time of turmoil, chaos, revolutions, casual violence, and savage brutality, and Iggulden's descriptions of the culture and environment are vivid. Although covering a period unknown to most lay readers, Emperor is a surprisingly fast and often exciting read. Iggulden admits to taking some liberties with history, and his masking the identities of Gaius and Marcus is unnecessary and distracting. While the real identity of Marcus (Et tu, Brute?) may be a puzzle, readers with a fair knowledge of Roman history will quickly identify Gaius (think of the Ides of March). Also, the roles of historical warlords Marius and Sulla are not well clarified. Still, this entertaining historical novel will appeal to fans of Steven Pressfield and Michael Curtis Ford.